The Roadster Era

Before Clint Brawner created the Hawk he was one of the most successful front engine roadster crew chiefs
and crew chiefs in the sport. His white with red and blue logo Dean Van Lines Specials were driven by the
cream of the crop during the roadster era, including Bob Sweikert (1953), Jimmy Bryan (1954-1957, three
national championships), A.J. Foyt (1958-1959), Eddie Sachs (1960-1962), Chuck Hulse (1963), and
Mario Andretti (1964).

The complete list of drivers who raced a pavement roadster, dirt car, Midget or Indycar for Clint Brawner
includes Bobby Ball, Earl Motter, Bob Christie, Bud Tinglestad, Norm Hall, Roger McClusky, Art Pollard,
Jim Malloy, Jimmie Caruthers, Bruce Jacobi, Donnie Davis and Troy Ruttman.

BACK 1965 1966 1967 1968 1969 NEXT